Home > Cisco UCS Configuration > B200-M2 boot from FC-SAN

B200-M2 boot from FC-SAN

11/22/2010

I picked up a few key pieces of information in the UCS Design class recently.  Most importantly was that the boot LUN id (H-LUN) must be 0 (zero).  One item I found confusing initially was identifying the correct WWPN for the SAN to use.  Once I found the right one, it worked like a champ.   Sort of.

As expected, the are multiple paths to the LUN for the vHBA, if the boot LUN gets trespassed (EMC’s term for a LUN being controlled by a processor other than its default), the path is no longer valid and the blade won’t boot.  I expect to have to have to configure the secondary/alternate targets, but for now, I just trespass the LUN back where it belongs.

I’ll update this post, once I have the resiliency worked out correctly.

 

 

Categories: Cisco UCS Configuration Tags: , , ,
  1. Amit
    04/19/2011 at 3:26 pm

    Hi Brian

    I’m facing a similiar issue where a LUN presented to B200 server was visible and OS was installed. However, the server is not booting up now and the LUN is not visible. Any thoughts or resolution around this please?

    Thanks for sharing!

    Regards
    Amit

  2. 06/13/2011 at 3:27 pm

    Hi Amit! Sorry for the very very late reply.
    You’ll want to make sure that your WWPN is still part of a host group on the storage array and that LUNs are assigned to it.
    One suggestion I have for troubleshooting is to boot the blade off of the ESXi install media. Don’t reinstall, but it will initialize the HBA and allow you to confirm that the WWPN and LUN masks/Host groups is correct.

    Good luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
