Home > Cisco UCS Configuration, Nexus 1000V, VMware vSphere > Cisco Nexus 1000V deployment

Cisco Nexus 1000V deployment

11/24/2010

I’ve having lots or trouble getting the VSM and VEM to see each other.  The Cisco Troubleshooting guide seems like it’ll be a lot of help, but I’ve reconfigured the VSM about 50 times already.  It has been quite the learning experience.  I suspect that the control VLAN is not present on both the C-series server and the B200 I’m trying to use.

So, I’m setting up a new VLAN in the N5K and in the 6120 and in the standard vSwitch on both hosts.  I’ve assigned that new VLAN as both the control and packet VLAN for the VSM and have my fingers crossed.

Will update as things progress…

Ok, found my problem.  I’d not set the VLANs on the vNICs of the Service Profile assigned to the Host with the VEM to include the Control/Packet VLAN.  Once I did that, the Host moved to the VDS without error.

 

