VMware View 4.6 incompatible with VM v8 – correction

I’ve got an environment running vSphere 5.0 and VMware View 4.6 (because View 5.0 isn’t GA yet).  I found that when I upgrade the VM version and VMware Tools of my “Parent” Windows 7 VM, then recompose the Pool, the View client can no longer connect to the Desktop over PCoIP!

Here’s some more details, I’m using a security server in a separate VLAN from the Connection Server, but even if I connect the View client directly to the Connection Server, the behavior is the same.  It acts just like the PCoIP port is blocked (it’s not BTW); first the black screen, then the session dies.

If I choose the snapshot made before the HW version and Tools version upgrade, and re-recompose the pool,  the client connects as expected.  There are no other apparent differences between the “working” snapshot and the “not-working” snapshot, so I must conclude that VMware View 4.6 is incompatible with VM v8.

If this is, or is not the case, or you have a workaround, please let me know!

 

Edit: thanks to the very first comment, I reinstalled the View Agent on the parent VM an viola’, it worked like a charm.

 

4 thoughts on “VMware View 4.6 incompatible with VM v8 – correction”

  1. Have you tried uninstalling the view agent and reinstalling it after upgrading VM to new VMTools and VM version 8? I had the same experience when I upgraded from vcenter 4.0 to 4.1 and installed new VM Tools. After uninstalling and reinstalll View 4.0 agent, it all worked again.

Comments are closed.